Level 1:

This is an “Entry Level” (not just for beginners) for volunteers who have not completed NIMS. Your time and energy is very much appreciated, and you are encouraged to complete the four NIMS courses to advance to the new Level 2.

Level 2:

This is the general activation level for ARES members. Having completed the four NIMS courses ( ICS 100, 200, 700 and 800 ), you will be available for activation either locally or as an ARESMAT service to another location. You will also be considered qualified to operate in an EOC environment.

Level 3:

This is a new, higher level envisioned for ARES leadership. Current structure calls for the additional completion of ICS 300 and 400. We realize that is usually a two-day, weekday course so there will be latitude given on when this will be fully required. You’re encouraged to pursue upper level training such as COML, COMT but we understand they are not currently required.

Welcome Packet:

Shelby County Ohio ARES®: Welcome Packet

Training Officer:

Mike Bennett - W8EGL


National Incident Management System (NIMS)
IS-100.B: Introduction to Incident Command System, ICS-100
IS-200.B: ICS for Single Resources and Initial Action Incidents
IS-700.A: National Incident Management System (NIMS) An Introduction
IS-800.C: National Response Framework, an Introduction
Total Communications Shutdown

Shelby County ARES YouTube Training Channel