Shelby County Ohio
Amateur Radio Emergency Services

Level 1:

This is an “Entry Level” (not just for beginners) for volunteers who have not completed NIMS. Your time and energy is very much appreciated, and you are encouraged to complete the four NIMS courses to advance to the new Level 2.

Level 2:

This is the general activation level for ARES members. Having completed the four NIMS courses ( ICS 100, 200, 700 and 800 ), you will be available for activation either locally or as an ARESMAT service to another location.

Level 3:

This is a new, higher level envisioned for ARES leadership. Current structure calls for the additional completion of ICS 300 and 400. You will also be considered qualified to operate in an EOC environment upon completion of this training. You’re also encouraged to pursue upper level training such as COML, COMT but we understand they are not currently required.


National Incident Management System (NIMS)
IS-100.B: Introduction to Incident Command System, ICS-100
IS-200.B: ICS for Single Resources and Initial Action Incidents
IS-700.A: National Incident Management System (NIMS) An Introduction
IS-800.C: National Response Framework, an Introduction

Shelby Co. ARES
YouTube Training Channel

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is youtube_icon-1-846x1024.png

Shelby Co. ARES Participates in: